Earning with Google AdSense
An ad slot is the HTML markup (<div> tags) that defines the space where ad appears/loads.
A creative is the ad served to users on a webpage, app, or other digital environment. Creatives can be images, videos, audio, and other formats that get delivered to users.
A search query/term is the word/phrase that people type into a search box/engine.
An ad request is counted whenever your site requests ads to be displayed. It is the number of ad units that requested ads or search queries. We report an ad request each time a request was sent, even if no ads were returned.
An impression is counted for each ad request where at least one ad has begun to download to the user’s device.
Over time the standards for counting an ad impression on the web have evolved: from counting an impression when the ad is served, to counting an impression when the ad starts to download on the user’s device.
- Served impression: An impression is counted when an ad is sent (or “served”) to a publisher by the ad server. The ad creative may or may not be downloaded to the user’s device, rendered, or viewed by the user.
- Downloaded impression: An impression is counted only after the ad has begun to download to the user’s device (to load on a page).
Earning through Impression/Click
The RPM & CPC for any ad is determined by the advertiser; some advertisers may be willing to pay more than others, depending on what they’re advertising.
Revenue per 1000 impressions (RPM) is the estimated earnings you’d accrue for every 1000 views, impressions, or queries you receive.
RPM = (Estimated earnings / Number of page views, impressions, or queries) * 1000
- If you earned an estimated $0.15 from 25 page views, then your page RPM would equal ($0.15 / 25) * 1000, or $6.00.
- If you earned an estimated $180 from 45,000 ad impressions, your ad RPM would equal ($180 / 45,000) * 1000, or $4.00.
When a user clicks an ad with Confirmed Click, the user will be asked to confirm their intent to visit the advertiser page by clicking a button associated to an action, such as “Visit site.”
Our system has determined that the ads on the impacted sites are generating unintended clicks. This creates a poor user experience because the user ends up on advertiser landing pages instead of their intended content.
By introducing the second click, we improve the experience by letting the user confirm their intent to visit the advertised page.
The cost-per-click (CPC) is the amount you earn each time a user clicks on your ad.
The page clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.
Page CTR = Clicks / Page views
For example, if you received 2 clicks for 250 page views, your page CTR would be 0.8%. (2/250=0.8%)
For standard ads, your ad clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of individual ad impressions.
Ad CTR = Clicks / Ad impressions
For example, if your ad received 5 clicks out of 1000 ad impressions, your ad CTR would be .5%.